top of page
  • Writer's pictureMMTA Newsletter Editor

Heather Riley on the 2019 MTNA National Conference in Spokane, WA

As a first-time conference attendee, I am deeply thankful for the generous funding that the MMTA Board provided, which helped make it possible for me to attend the 2019 MTNA National Conference in Spokane. The inspiration and education that I received, the people I met, and the professional camaraderie that I experienced have made a significant and lasting impression on me!


Some highlights from my five days at the conference:

  • Pedagogy Saturday, Teaching Artistry sessions - refreshing perspectives on familiar ideas about phrasing, analysis, and character development, which I used immediately in lessons with my students when I returned.

  • The eloquent opening keynote address, about Chopin, by Alan Walker.

  • Breathing techniques from Lesley McAllister in her session on “Learning to Face Fear: Anxiety and the Adolescent Student.”

  • Studio business strategies in “The Business Minded Teacher: Entrepreneurial & Technology Tips for Your Music Studio” session by Noreen Wenjen.

  • New repertoire ideas by women composers, from Hyunjung Rachel Chung, from her impressively researched presentation, “Piano Sonatas by Women Composers.”

  • Exploring all the booths in the exhibit hall, and shopping for new music!

  • Ingrid Fliter’s recital of Beethoven and Chopin - impressive and intimate.

  • Discovering a new (to me) composer, William Minter - I got to meet him in person and fell in love with his piano series, “Journeys,” which I can’t wait to share with my students.

  • Meeting composers/pedagogues Kathy Albergo & Mitzi Kolar (I’m a long-time big fan of their series “Celebrate Piano!”).

Above all, I think one of my most favorite and memorable experiences was getting to know my wonderful Massachusetts colleagues better! I had so much fun chatting over drinks and dinner with both new and familiar friends. I look forward to having more moments like those!

I’m so grateful for this amazing experience at the MTNA National Conference, and I can’t wait to go again next year. Thank you MMTA!


Heather Riley (center) with Cathy Albergo (right) and Mitzi Kolar (left), of Celebrate Piano!

Respectfully Submitted,

Heather Rogers Riley

MMTA, President-Elect

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page