top of page
  • Writer's pictureMMTA Newsletter Editor

Reflections - A Teaching Memoir

Being a member of MMTA has enriched my life and those many students and teachers I’ve been privileged to learn from for the last 34 years.


My first teacher, Edna Smart of Beverly, MA was a graduate of New England Conservatory of Music, and was always on the cutting edge of the latest pedagogical research. My starting curriculum as a 5 year old, was published by the Sherwood School of Music out of Chicago.

When I was 12 years old, Mrs. Smart had to have major surgery. Not wanting her students to go 6 weeks without lessons, she trained another student and myself to substitute for her. Listening from behind sliding doors, she’d make suggestions for next lessons. At the end of the six weeks, she asked if the two of us enjoyed teaching, we resounded with an excited "Yes!" When she saw our excitement she bought another piano for her next room and we started on our teaching journeys, charging $1.50 for each lesson; 1 dollar to our pockets and 50 cents towards the cost of the piano.

Fast forward to the present, after teaching for 65 years …


After receiving a B.Mu.Ed and graduate work in Cognition and Instruction, training many high school student teachers, and all of the inspiring sessions while in attendance at various MTNA conferences, I’ve made the decision to retire.

I’ll never forget attending the MTNA conference in Austin, Texas and having the rare opportunity to be seated next to Van Cliburn. While waiting to be called to the stage to receive a Lifetime Achievement award for his Mother, Van Cliburn whispered “Are you here as a performer or a teacher?” When I said “a teacher”, he took my hand and said “that’s the most important gift, the legacy of passing on the beauty of music.” I thought I’d never want to wash my hands! That’s what teaching and membership in MTNA is all about.


Now...what to do with five filing cabinets of music!? Let me know if you’d like to view my “music store” or request any of my musical reference books. To all my dear colleagues, remember, your gift of teaching is so valuable and healing in a hurting world.


Jan Gaboriault, 182 Washington St, Topsfield

978-887-8660 or bgaboria@comcast.net




61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page