top of page
  • Writer's pictureMMTA Newsletter Editor

Never Say Never - Adapting During a Pandemic

“I will never teach online, it’s just not for me.”

“I will never use an online calendar, I like seeing things on paper.”


“I don’t have any need for a website, it’s just not necessary for my business.”

These words have all come out of my mouth. As a teacher for over thirty years, I am certainly used to changing with the times, but I always thought in my next decade or so, that I had a system down that worked for myself and my students. Fulfilling, engaging, comfortable.

On March 10, 2020 I had my last Adult Repertoire Class in person. It was lovely and we met in a beautiful church with a gorgeous new Steinway. We were all in heaven. By the time that week was over, future performances, events, trips, conferences, and lessons had been put on hold for the pandemic.


My husband and I hopped in the car and drove to Virginia to help care for our grandson while the parents attempted to work from home. I contacted colleagues and asked the question, “How are you handling this situation?” I have very intelligent and energetic colleagues and without their support, I don’t know if I would have taken the steps to reeducate myself in so many areas.

Over the next few months, I started to teach via Zoom and was surprised at how much the students and I were able to accomplish. My daughter bought me a piano in Virginia and I taught there for several weeks. I was able to conduct my first virtual recital in a movie format for my students after collecting their home performances.

With the upcoming uncertainty for the school system, I researched online scheduling, again consulting with my intelligent colleagues, and chose MyMusicStaff as the platform. This in turn led me to creating a personal website. I have been putting many teaching materials online so my students can access them anywhere. The website has also given me a platform to do a studio wide monthly listening project and to keep a history of repertoire for each student which I can access from anywhere. And with the ever changing schedules of my younger students, they are able to reschedule lessons on-line without the back and forth of phone calls and e-mails. Many of my colleagues were using systems like these before the pandemic and I was able to use them as sounding boards.


I know my story is not unique and that adaptation has been necessary around the world. I can only say in summary, “never say never” and enlist the resources available to you through a professional organization like MMTA. One of the best resources? The collective knowledge, enthusiasm, and friendship of your colleagues to whom I am so grateful. If in turn, I can help another teacher, please don’t hesitate to reach out.

Dorothy Travis

Past President of MMTA

www.dorothytravis.mymusicstaff.com





27 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page