top of page
  • Writer's pictureMMTA Newsletter Editor

What MMTA/MTNA Means to Me

The seeds for my dedication to MTNA were sown in 1975, when, as a college junior at University of Maine at Orono, I was a founding member of Maine Music Teachers Association, along with my piano professor Kathryn Ann Foley. I remember Julio Esteban, then MTNA President, flying in to “create” the chapter. My teacher couldn’t stand correspondence, so I was the Chief Mail-Opener.

The years flew by. I was President of Maine MTA for five years, then I moved back to Massachusetts to get my Masters. After about a year, I found myself President again and then, a couple of years later, I was asked by MTNA Executive Director Bob Elias, to serve on the MTNA Board as Independent Music Teachers Forum Chairperson. This was an amazing opportunity for me, because in those days, independent teachers were perceived as older ladies with buns who taught in their homes for “pin money.” People like Carol Winborne and I contributed to the growing voice for IMT’s as viable, full professionals, right up there along with college faculty members. I wrote twenty-four columns for the AMT. I spoke strongly. With MTNA behind me, perhaps I made a difference. Now, my young colleagues have large studios, schools, full incomes and the pride of professional stature. MTNA gave me something to fight for and a platform from which to fight.

I’ve held myriad offices within MMTA, some more interesting, some tedious. I’ve gotten angry when I’ve been on the Nominating Committee and heard “No, I can’t take an office now. I’m too busy.” The people I’ve worked with on the Board are so stimulating and so brilliant. They inspire me and, in many cases, have become my dearest friends.


I’ve attended pretty much every National Conference since 1980 in D.C. and have been grateful that my own travel nickel has sometimes been bolstered generously by travel grants provided through the largesse of MMTA and the Reed Family Travel Grant.


Sometimes I wonder why I stay involved, after “all these years.” Should I move on, put my energies elsewhere, let others take the mantle? I guess I feel that with the support, ingenuity and scaffolding provided by my professional organization and its members, I’ve been free to do ALL of those things while STILL serving. I’ve been encouraged by my colleagues here and all over the nation, to learn, grow, become a better and better teacher. I’ve thrived in my studio during this pandemic in large part because of the resources MTNA/MMTA has given me, both tangible and more abstract – like confidence in who I am as an IMT and the security of being able to lean on colleagues who might know things I don’t. I’ve passed the mantle, again and again, by encouraging (sometimes more like dragging) many of my very strong and gifted colleagues into this organization. I LOVE my “old-time” colleagues like Valerie and Dorothy and Nilly, and I cherish my young colleagues like Ellyses and Heather, Melissa and Jonathan and Rebecca. They spur me on, they (go ahead, moan at the cliché!) keep me young.


I try to keep my involvement productive and fresh. Recently, I served as ED Certification Commissioner. And, I am thrilled to have created a program that heretofore existed only in my imagination -- MMTA’s Music Connect Program. Without MMTA, I would have neither resources nor support to create a program that helps students afford their lessons through tough times. It is a legacy -- mine and MMTA’s. And for that I am eternally grateful.


So, I plan to chair the 60th Anniversary Gala of MMTA, happening on Sunday, December 6, 2020. I might even chair the next Massachusetts Quad-State! Ha! I’ll be 71 years old. I continue to stand on the shoulders of all the teachers who have come before me. I proudly hold MTNA/MMTA out to all the teachers yet to come. You will never, ever work alone!

Alison S. Barr, NCTM

MMTA’s Music Connect Chair

MTNA Member since 1975


30 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page